New York Firearms Forum banner

Calipers

1K views 23 replies 14 participants last post by  dusty73 
#1 ·
I currently have a Frankford Arsenal digital caliper and it's a piece of crap. So in the mean time I'm using a cheap dial (analog?) caliper (zeroed by turning the dial face). I'd like to get back to digital, simply for a little more accuracy. Any recommended digital calipers that won't break the bank, but not junk like the FA brand?

TIA

#12 ·
I agree with Frankie. I worked as a machinist/tool maker for almost 40 years and have seen lots of calipers. I have a Mitutoyo digital caliper that I used daily at work for somewhere around 25 or 30 years. Only thing I ever had to do was replace a battery occasionally and it has a low battery warning indicator to let you know when it's time. You're going to get what you pay for. I use standard micrometers in 1, 2, and 3 inch to measure my ammo but I have this stuff as part of my work tools.

#4 ·
Sadly almost all of the digital calipers under $100 appear to have come from the same factory in China. If you do find something decent, please post the source here.

#14 ·
https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B001AQEZ2W/ref=ox_sc_act_image_3?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=A2FYHGC4NSM6WF

Somebody did a review on the cheaper ones, and this one came out on top for accuracy. I'm going to give it a try.
I have these and they work fine.

I keep a handful of loads with the lengths sharpie'd on the sides. Anytime i start reloading a batch i test the calipers on those. If something doesnt match up i replace the battery and try again.

I havent had any issues so far

#8 ·
Old eyes means it's easier for me to see a digital display as opposed trying guess down to the thousandths range on the dial caliper.

Thanks for the suggestions gentlemen.

#7 ·