Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: Advice on NY Legal AR-15

Private

Default Advice on NY Legal AR-15

Hi all,

Im a bit of a newbie so please bear with me as I figure things out!

I live in Westchester, so I am m considering getting an NY legal AR-15. Any advice as to what kind of brand is best and reliable online vendors? I was reading about the Bushmaster brand but would love to get any opinions.

Also, Im looking into which range I can shoot it at near White Plains. Do most ranges accomodate this kind of rifle? Also, is it common to find people with AR-15's at the range, or is it a bit over the top?

Finally, is it possible to get pre-ban magazines somewhere?

Thanks!

Major

i have a bushmaster mx-15 and love the rifle. it has a chrome lines barrel that wipes clean with just a bore snake and alrdy comes NY compliant with a pinned stock and pinned break. as for mags DO NOT BUY PREBANS FROM YOUR LOCAL SHOPS. if you shop on the forums you can get pre ban dated mags for $20 non dated for $15 and no dates for 10-15 ish depending on brand for 30's. i only use 20's and they can be had for anywhere from 10-20$ depending on make and rarity. also i have put about 2000 rounds through my bushmaster and have only did a full strip clean every 1000 rounds iv never had a jam and i only shoot brass cases.

Private

Thanks for your take on the bushmaster. Any thoughts on the Stag?

As for getting the mags on the forum, how big of a factor is age and condition on longevity and peformance? Or are the mags generally good to go for decades?

Thanks for the help!

Quote Originally Posted by llink78 View Post