Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree15Likes

Thread: Building home indoor shooting range

Private

Default Building home indoor shooting range

I've got a 30x45' area in the basement of my vacation place that I want to make into a range for some practice. I'm a welder with access to whatever I need for a proper backstop. On one side, I'll devote 6' width and the full 45' to build my booth. This area also has a small basement window in which I can pipe some sort of exhaust. Before I ask if anyone has one or has experience contructing a shooting booth I'd like to know about legalities. I shoot regularly on the rural property, there's not much there at all. I know for certain noise isn't an issue but can you legally shoot a firearm inside? Has anyone done this?
    Looking forward to some advice

try ecode360 for your local and search the town codes for firearm realted sections.

Not to sure about NYS law regarding them......i wouldnt go telling ur insurnace company either....
    "Honor is due to those who went simply because they did."

RIT 2012

"If you survive that and continue, you will quickly experience rapid ventilation of your cranial vault with a 1-ounce slug." ~ Bob

I believe you can legally shoot from the inside of your home - there are plenty enough of indoor ranges across the state.

That said - things to think about are proper ventilation so you don't get lead poisoning and to reinforce the ceiling to avoid the off chance of putting a round through the living areas.

I have been to a few different indoor ranges and have seen a bit of different construction methods. One thing that I would recomend, whatever your backstop is made out of put a single stack layer of cinder blocks up behind it. The cinder blocks just need to be stacked not even mortared in place and will take the steam out of any over penetration of your backstop.
    SGT - US Army 96-04

Private

Quote Originally Posted by sdb3023 View Post