Close

Major

Default Mosin Nagant M44 question

I ran across this on Armslist:

ARMSLIST - For Sale: Russian Mosin Nagant M44 Carbine in Excellent Condition

The seller's description as follows:

A very pristine example of a great rifle. New surplus M44 in 7.62x54R. A lot easier to shoot all day long than a standard 91/30 Mosin. The shorter barrel doesn't give the high pressures enough room to really put a hurting on your shoulder. Same huge boom and fireball as a 91/30. Everything in excellent shape, I can take more detailed pictures upon request.

Now I had heard that the Mosin Nagant M44 carbine has more of a kick than the standard Mosin Nagant rifle. Which one has the bigger kick (recoil) ? Can anyone help me out with this?

I'm not an expert but the shorter barrel reducing pressure thing sounds ridiculous to me. Physics would dictate that given the same round and action the lighter rifle will transfer more recoil to your shoulder. Total mass of all ejecta (including the bullet and expanded powder gasses) are the same regardless of barrel length.

Corporal

My M44 has more kick than my 91/30s, or so it feels to me.
    http://ballseyesboomers.blogspot.com/
    When I look in the mirror, I am happy to see, some of that nine year old boy, who used to be me.

Sergeant

they both "kick" the same to me but dont let the boom fool you the M-44 is alot louder and the fireball is awesome!!

Private

I also can't tell the difference in kick between the two, however with the M44 being lighter, it probably kicks harder. The shorter carbine length barrel creates an much more amazing fireball, especially at night with some 50's Hungarian heavy ball i got from AIM a while back. The 7.62x54r cartriges were loaded with a fairly slow burning powder, hence it the powder is still burning when it reaches the muzzle of the carbine length barrels.

Major

m44 is not lighter really
    the m44 has much more pronounced recoil due to its shorter barrel

the 9130 can be fired all day