Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree5Likes

Thread: Saratoga Pistol Safety Course (complicated question)

Private

Default Saratoga Pistol Safety Course (complicated question)

Hello everyone, first post here, so bear with me!

I'm just beginning the process of applying for a pistol permit, and as such, called the number for the Saratoga Pistol Safety Course. After several attempts to get through (unsuccessfully), I eventually got a hold of someone who informed me - "We have enough people for the courses to get us through to the Fall". Translation - This is going to seriously hold up my application process.

For a relatively conservative county like Saratoga, this is surprising... ANYWAYS, here's my question...

Is it worth writing to Judge Seibert (the judge who handles pistol permits), requesting that I be able to transfer a neighboring county's Safety Course into Saratoga? I called Schenectady, and they have slots available in February.

Any thoughts/suggestions would be appreciated!

all I know is that it is impossible to get a full carry there, don't pi$$ off the judge, ever
    cgrutt likes this.

Doesn't hurt to ask politely. Maybe if you take the other county class and have yourself scheduled for the Saratoga class he would be receptive to the idea.
    Bill and cgrutt like this.
    NYSRPA Member - SCOPE Member - NRA Life Member - NRA Range Safety Officer

I would call the people at the pistol permit office first. They've generally been helpful here even though this is not a full carry county. My impression is that the judge is the one who is anti full carry. The pistol permit office people are just doing their jobs.

So give them a call, tell them your scenario and see if they've ever done anything like that before.

can't hurt, I guess

Private

My post wasn't about the possibility of being granted "Full Carry". It's about transferring the course from Schenectady to Saratoga.