Close

JDR
    Private

Default Non Resident Pistol Permit In NY?

I have a question on non NY residents obtaining a pistol permit. I've searched this forum for any past comments and they were all NY residents obtaining other state permits.
    I own a vacation property with a domicile on it in Yates County and it's big enough I put in a bench rest for a 50 yard range. So far all I've shot on it is .22 rifles.

The way I read the official on line info on NY state pistol permits non residents cannot apply. I'm a resident of NJ. I stopped in and talked to the State Police and was told that nonresidents cannot receive a permit. So far looking pretty grim.

Does any one have any information that would change that guidance?

Thanks,

Jim

2. Register or Log In to remove this Ad!

Jim, Non residents do not receive a NYS permit. Sorry, looks like long guns is your going to get.
    "Honor is due to those who went simply because they did."

RIT 2012

"If you survive that and continue, you will quickly experience rapid ventilation of your cranial vault with a 1-ounce slug." ~ Bob

Yup, sorry. Pretty much the long and short of it is non-resident = no pistol permit.
    Whiskey Tango Foxtrot?

Sorry, you have to live here.
    Tact is for people not witty enough to use sarcasm

I think you found the answer from the state code and the state police.....
    "From training comes knowledge. From knowledge comes confidence. From confidence comes triumph."

The Next Evolution in Training

"Like" us on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/pages/Roche...61665857219329

Dave Jenkins,
    Founder, Primary Instructor: Rochester Personal Defense, LLC
    NRA Certified Instructor and Training Counselor for:Well, pretty much everything!
    REAL TRAINING, FOR REAL PEOPLE, FOR REAL LIFE.

Private

Default Part-Time New York Residents Eligible for Pistol Permits