New York Firearms Forum banner

JUST REC. MY Westchester NY PERMIT, what is says is surprising

6K views 9 replies 9 participants last post by  smitty846 
#1 ·
Westchester County, NY - after waiting 1 YEAR and 1 month from first application, I just got my permit. Not a fun or easy process, BUT! My permit says ? "Sportsperson" NOT "range" or "target"?? ....I am new to all this so please bare with me. What are the different types of permits and what to they mean, and where can I carry my firearm? Can I only "carry" it to the range, or to my camping trip, or hunting? PLMK I mean i'm happy to have ANY permit after that wait and process !! but not sure where I am allowed to carry.

#2 ·
Well thats typical of New York laws Confusing.

We are licensed thru the state for a conceal carry permit meaning we can carry a concealed firearm. Out local county Judges put the restrictions on it. So you are now restricted to use your firearm for "sportsman" purpose. so if you used it for self defense in your home have you used your firearms improperly?

I listen to an instructor explain to his students that they are only allowed to carry there firearm concealed on them while they were in the ACT of "sportsman" not when they are in route to the "sportsman event" Good luck trying to figure it out. it would be nice if there was a book we could read that state the requirement we have to follow.

Good Luck with your new fire arm. Do you have any experience with a hand gun

#3 ·