Close

Like Tree5Likes
  • 3 Post By OwnTheRide
  • 1 Post By Saltwater60
  • 1 Post By smitty846

Thread: What is the law?

Private

Default What is the law?

What is the law in the sense that lets say I'm walking down the street or in a park, And I see someone committing a crime, i.e robbing someone with a knife or gunpoint, someone beating their significant other, raping or child abduction, an animal attacking a person, can I legally pull out my firearm to stop the altercation or do I still have to retreat. And what about if someone comes in to a store and starts shooting, can I stop him or do I still have to retreat if I can safely do so. I tried to read the laws but there are so many unclear rules, and since I'm not a lawyer or know one I can't make sense of it all. From what I've read, it seems like as long as I or a family member is not being threatened I have to retreat. Any help would be appreciated.

2. Register or Log In to remove this Ad!

The short answer is that yes, you can defend someone else.

The longer answer is much more nuanced. I think the mnemonic was "MR BARKS" - Murder Rape Burglary Arson Robbery Kidnapping Sodomy. It's changed over the years, I think they use DR BARKS now (D = Deadly physical force being used against you or others) and they changed the 'S' to be "criminal Sexual assault." These are the offenses for which deadly force may be legal.

As I'm sure you have observed, even clear-cut cases of self-defense can still end up with the defender in court, charged with serious crimes. I don't have any factual data on the matter, but I suspect one is even more likely to be charged with something in a case of defense of others, particularly when said "other" is unknown to you.