Carrying Long Guns passing through NYC
Close

Private

Default Carrying Long Guns passing through NYC

Hi everybody. I'm new to the gun world. I just bought a Beretta 390 for sporting clays. I live in Nassau County, Long Island. I know I can put rifles and shotguns in the trunk provided that the guns are not loaded.

I've been searching for 2 days for the law in NYC but couldn't find any solid material telling me if I could carry LONG GUNS in a car passing through NYC. All information is about pistols.

Since I live at the edge of Nassau County, everytime I return from the range I have to use local express way to go home 'cos I'm not sure if I could carry a shotgun passing through NYC. It would be much faster for me to take Southern State Parkway, then Belt Parkway to go home. But I would be in Queens County if I'm on Belt Parkway.

And I may go hunting upstate in the future. Passing through NYC is the only way to get a gun from Long Island to upstate NY. (Or maybe I can throw the gun in an aircraft and fly it myself if I'm rich enough LOL. I'm not sure local airports allow a pilot to carry a gun in the aircraft.)

Can anybody tell me the NYC law? Can I carry a rifle or shotgun passing through NYC without a license? Can anybody provide a link or phone number so I can make it 100% sure? Thanks!!!!

2. Register or Log In to remove this Ad!
    Corporal

As long as the weapon is locked in a non-transparent case, in the trunk, separate from the ammunition. If you do not have a trunk it is essential that the ammo is kept in a separate. The trip must also be non-stop with an exception for refueling.

Have you called the state police to ask yet?

I'm 'fairly' certain you can travel through without stopping and be OK.
    But, I'm not a laywer, LEO or even nearby resident, so take that with a large grain of salt.

There I go, typing slow...
    If there's no such thing as trolls, how do you explain all the dead unicorns?

5. Remove Advertisements
    NYFireArms.com