How do I get my son's gun home?
Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree7Likes

Thread: How do I get my son's gun home?

Private

Default How do I get my son's gun home?

The good news... My unrestricted NYS pistol permit came in the mail today!

My son lived in NC for a year or so. While there, he legally purchased a pistol. When he moved back to NY, he left the gun in PA with my brother-in-law. He does not yet have a NYS permit. I'd like to get the pistol to NY and on my permit. When he gets his permit, I'll either co-register it or transfer it to him.

What is the proper process to follow? I'm a Monroe county resident.

Thank you.

David

2. Register or Log In to remove this Ad!
    Colonel

Only way to do it is to have an FFl in PA ship it to an FFL in NYS then you go to the permit office and get it added to your permit. You then go to the FFL in NYS and pick it up. The FFL in NYS needs to give you a receipt to take to the permit office prior to you adding it to your permit.

Corporal

You can bring it cross the border, then turn it in under amnesty at your local sheriffs station and proceed to obtain your permit under normal regulations. This is 100% legal, no matter what some might say. if you declare that handgun at the local dept, you have 1 year to obtain your permit and you cannot be charged. Once you have the permit, they will put the SN's on it (the new permit) and its yours. 100% legit.

5. Remove Advertisements
    NYFireArms.com
    Advertisements

Private

Quote Originally Posted by Saltwater60 View Post
    Only way to do it is to have an FFl in PA ship it to an FFL in NYS then you go to the permit office and get it added to your permit. You then go to the FFL in NYS and pick it up. The FFL in NYS needs to give you a receipt to take to the permit office prior to you adding it to your permit.
    Thank you Saltwater60. Would getting a non-resident PA license simplify? I'm guessing not.

Corporal

Quote Originally Posted by Vicarious View Post