New to Shooting with My Remington 783 Need advice.
Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Private

Default New to Shooting with My Remington 783 Need advice.

Hello everyone, so as the title says I am new to shooting and just purchased my first Remington 783 .308 win with the hopes of using it to hunt deer this fall. However, I went to the Gun for Hire range in New Jersey re-signed for my membership and noticed that I am not a good shot at all. I held up my rifle looked through the the scope which my eyes and ear protection didn't allow to be a smooth thing and when I put to crosshairs on the intended target I might as well have been shooting during an earthquake. Any advice on how to get steady while shooting from the shoulder? Or just training advice in general?

2. Register or Log In to remove this Ad!

Did u site your rifle in before this range trip? When I am hunting I will steady myself off of a tree.
    Last edited by jaywmustang; 07-25-2016 at 12:40 PM.
    S.A.F.E ACT

S.tealing A.rms F.rom E.veryone. A.ndrew C.uomo's T.reachery

Private

Quote Originally Posted by jaywmustang View Post
    Did u site your rifle in before this range trip? When I am hunting I will steady myself off of a tree.
    No, I am ashamed

5. Remove Advertisements
    NYFireArms.com
    Advertisements

First I would site the rifle in. When I site in my rifle I like to use a front support (bipod,range bags). Do u know how to adjust the optic?
    S.A.F.E ACT

Private

Quote Originally Posted by jaywmustang View Post
    First I would site the rifle in. When I site in my rifle I like to use a front support (bipod,range bags). Do u know how to adjust the optic?
    No, I am assuming I could look up a youtube video but would rather take direction from everyone here.

Postmaster General Darthgamer138's Avatar